Chrisicisms
We're Watching Here
Interview with Cody Benjamin
0:00
-55:30

Interview with Cody Benjamin

Talking film and faith with the author of "Movies from the Mountaintop."

Hey everyone!

Doing something a bit different today and bringing you an audio interview. I’m hoping to do these a bit more, as a way to keep the content here fresh and engaging. And if you don’t want to listen on a desktop, you can download the Substack app…or I’ll also put them up as episodes of We’re Watching Here.

Today, I’m happy to bring you this interview with Cody Benjamin. Cody writes about football for CBS Sports, but he also is a prolific and talented film writer. His book Why We Need the Movies is a great collection of essays about the power of film and the theatrical experiences. His new book, Movies from the Mountaintop: 100+ Films that Express God, Explore Faith and Enlighten the Church, invites 25 authors to write about films that have spiritually impacted them. Full disclosure: I was invited to write an essay for this book, and I was honored to share my thoughts about Planes, Trains and Automobile as a reminder of loving our neighbor. You can buy the book on Amazon in a softcover or Kindle version.

Also, a reminder that my We’re Watching Here co-host, Perry Seibert, and I will be co-hosting the Secret Cinema at the Maple Theater in Bloomfield Hills on Thursday, July 21, at 7:30 p.m. We’ll be viewing a beloved movie from the New Hollywood era, but you won’t know what it is until you show up!

I hope you enjoy this interview, and I’ll be back Friday with another visit to Jurassic World for Franchise Friday!

Thanks for reading Chrisicisms! Subscribe for free to receive new posts and support my work.

0 Comments
Chrisicisms
We're Watching Here
Chris Williams and Perry Seibert talk film.